The Acting Vice Chancellor of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), Ogbomoso, Oyo State, Prof. Rasaq Olatunde Kalilu, yesterday, disclosed that 99 students of the institution would graduate in the First Class category during its 16th convocation ceremony scheduled for next week.

Kalilu, who spoke during a media briefing at the Senate Building of the university, said that 4,749 students would be awarded first degrees.

He, however, attributed the feat of winning N203 million national and international grants by LAUTECH’s researchers to hard work and the provision of an enabling environment by the management for its lecturers and students.

He said: “I acknowledge the unwavering commitment of the Visitor to the university, who is also the Governor of Oyo State, ‘Seyi Makinde, to the development of the institution. Through his unalloyed support, the university was able to weather storms and continue to grow.

“During this 16th convocation ceremony, 1,363 students will be graduating with Second Class (Upper), 2,580 students with Second Class (Lower), 597 students in the Third Class category and 25 in the Pass category.”

He also disclosed that Olagoke Israel Olopade, who is graduating with a GCPA of 4.86 from the Department of Chemical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Technology, is the overall best-graduating student and he will be awarded the prize during this convocation.

On the infrastructural development and needs of LAUTECH, Kalilu posited that the expansion of the academic vista and rapid growth of the university had imposed the need for infrastructural upgrade and expansion, adding that four lecture theatres were renovated to make the learning environment more conducive.

Kalilu, however, said that part of the activities commemorating the convocation include the award of Doctor of Business Administration (Honoris Causa) on the university’s sixth and current Chancellor, who is also the paramount ruler of Emuoha Kingdom, Rivers State, Sir Ohna Sergeant Chidi Awuse.

Other personalities that will be conferred with Doctor of Civil Law (Honoris Causa) include Ahmed Adeniyi Raji (SAN) and Adeyinka Ayoade Ajao, who will be awarded Doctor of Technology (Honoris Causa).

About Author

You Might Like This

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.