Vice-Chancellor, University of Benin, Professor Lilian Salami, has been elected as Chairman of the Committee of Vice-Chancellors of Nigerian Federal Universities.


According to a statement by Prof. Yakubu Ochefu, Secretary-General of the Committee, Prof. Salami was unanimously elected on Wednesday during a virtual/physical meeting held at its secretariat in Abuja.


Until her election, the UNIBEN VC was the Alternate Chairperson to Professor Sulyman Abdulkareem who will be completing his tenure as the Vice Chancellor, University of Ilorin on the 15th October, 2022.


With her election, Professor Salami becomes the first female to occupy the position in recent time. She is also the first female Vice-President of the Association of African Universities (AAU).




Meanwhile, the Vice Chancellor of Bayero University, Kano, Professor Sagir Adamu Abbas was elected as the Alternate Chairman to Professor Salami.


The Committee of Vice Chancellors of Nigerian Federal Universities is the umbrella body for VCs of Nigerian Federal universities.


It is a sub-committee of the Committee of Vice Chancellors of Nigerian Universities (CVCNU) which is the umbrella body of all universities in Nigeria.

About Author

You Might Like This

About Adeyemi Samuel Afolayan (Sirmilo) 2765 Articles
Adeyemi Samuel Afolayan{Sirmilo} loves to share campus news from various sources to keep readers updated and connected at all time. He's a Publicist, Campus Reporter and entrepreneur.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.